2023 Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science

The Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science are Australia’s most prestigious awards for outstanding achievements in scientific research, research-based innovation and science teaching.

The Prizes acknowledge the achievements and success of Australian scientists and innovators, and the benefits of their work to both Australia and the rest of the world.

The Prizes also recognise the critical role primary and secondary school educators play in inspiring and encouraging students to take an interest and consider careers in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM).

Professor Michelle Simmons AO is the recipient for the Prime Minister’s Prize for Science, visit the PM Prizes website for information about the other winners.


A group of ten people stand in a semicircle with Prime Minister Anthony Albanese and Minister Ed Husic MP in the middle