October 28, 2020

Congratulations to the 2020 Prime Minister's Prizes for Science awardees!

Congratulations to the 2020 awardees of the Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science! You can find out about all of the prize winners here, but we would particularly like to celebrate the South Australian scientists who have been honored in this year’s awards.

2020 Prime Minister’s Prize for Science: OzGrav Team

The Australian Research Council Centre of Excellence for Gravitational Wave Discovery was awarded the 2020 Prime Minister’s Prize for Science for their critical contributions to the first direct detection of gravitational waves on Earth – a groundbreaking discovery in the world of physics.

The team includes Professor Peter Veitch (University of Adelaide), along with Emeritus Professor David Blair (University of Western Australia), Professor David McClelland (Australian ational University) and Professor Susan Scott (Australian National University).

2020 Prize for New Innovators

The 2020 Prize for New Innovators was awarded to Associate Professor Justin Chalker (Flinders University), who has invented a new class of polymers that stand to provide sustainable solutions to some of humanity’s greatest challenges; namely ensuring clean air, fresh water and sustainable food production.