Our region: Fleurieu

The Fleurieu Regional Science Hub was established in 2015.

Our zone extends from the South Eastern freeway at its northern border limit, to the top of the Coorong in the south, and then west along the coast, and finally up to Sellicks Beach and Willunga Hill.

Major towns included in the Hub include Strathalbyn, Goolwa, Victor Harbour and Yankalilla. Total population is 49,287.

Our economy is relatively diverse. Key wealth generating industries are agriculture, forestry and fishing, tourism, mineral resources and manufacturing; particularly in food and wine. Key service industries linked to population growth are health and community services, retail, building and construction and education and training. Business opportunities are mainly in self-employed (micro) to small businesses. Business growth is stabilising particularly for self-employed and small business, but medium to large business numbers continue to decline

The key scientific features of our Hub include:

  • Primary Production (grain, livestock, seafood, honey)
  • Marine Biology
  • Food processing (dairy, wine, beer, spirits, seafood)
  • Wind power
  • Environmental Tourism
  • Conservation



Want more information?

Sheryn Pitman would love to help you out if you have any questions.

Email: inspiringsa@sa.gov.au
Phone: (08) 8207 7382