Our region: Yorke and Mid-North

The Yorke and Mid-North Regional Science Hub was established in 2015, and encompasses 11 local government regions: Barunga West, Clare and Gilbert Valleys, Copper Coast, Goyder, Mount Remarkable, Northern Areas, Orroroo Carrieton, Peterborough, Port Pirie, Wakefield and Yorke Peninsula.

The major towns for the region include Port Pirie, Kadina, Moonta, Clare and Wallaroo, with an approximate total population of 75000 people throughout.

Apart from having the largest installed renewable energy source of wind farms in South Australia, the Yorke and Mid North region’s largest Industries are:

  • Agriculture, forestry and fishing
  • Healthcare and social assistance
  • Retail Trade
  • Manufacturing
  •  Education and training

Key areas for scientific development include:

  • Transformation for Regional Prosperity and Community Growth
  • Agriculture Practices and Food Production
  • Environment and Natural Resources


Wattle_Point_wind_farm yorkes


Related Articles

Science Highlights in our Regions

As 2017 wraps up, we take a look at the exciting science that happened in our Regional Science Hubs. From our newest hub on Kangaroo Island to the Far North, there were fantastic science events happening across the state.

Want more information?

To learn more, please make contact with Reg Dennis:

Email: reg.dennis@sa.gov.au

Mobile: 0428 011 101