Our region: Murray and Mallee

Established in 2015, the Murray and Mallee Regional Science Hub is characterised by the River Murray and its surrounding environments. The SA Murray-Darling Basin region extends from where the River Murray crosses the SA/Victorian border, down to where it meets the sea at the Coorong. Major towns include Mount Barker, Murray Bridge, Lameroo, Goolwa and Berri.

The region covers six distinct ecological areas:

  • River Murray
  • Coorong and Lower Lakes
  • Murray Mallee
  • Murray Plains
  • Eastern Mount Lofty Ranges
  • South Olary Plains


Overall it covers 56,000 square kilometres, and hosts around 125,000 people as residents.

The landscape of the Murray-Darling Basin is one of national and international renown characterised by the mighty River Murray, Lower Lakes and Coorong, extensive native vegetation on public and private lands, Ramsar sites, rangelands and a huge diversity of native species.

The River Murray supplies the majority of the water needs for the capital city of Adelaide as well as other towns in the state.

The region is an important food bowl for the state, producing premium wine, food and fibre for the domestic and export markets.

NMM-01b (2)


Related Articles

Citizen Scientists Unite in the Murray & Mallee Region

October 7, 2016

The Murray Mallee region has seen a flurry of citizen science activity. The wider community has been getting their hands dirty in science projects for the betterment of the local environment.

Science Week wrap-up at Murray and Mallee

October 10, 2017

We take a look at National Science Week in the Murray and Mallee region, where locals have been engaging with virtual reality, car technology, chemical experiments and more.

Want more information?

If you’d like to ask any questions, please contact Chris Steer (Team Leader of Community Engagement, Natural Resources SA Murray-Darling Basin).

Email: Chris.Steer@sa.gov.au
Phone: + 61 8 8391 7515

Stay up-to-date with the Murray and Mallee region by subscribing to the Natural Resources SA Murray Darling Basin e-newsletter.