November 7, 2018

2018 South Australian Regional Science-Arts Collaboration Grants Awarded

Inspiring South Australia is pleased to announced the 2018 South Australian Regional Science-Arts Collaboration Grants awarded for 2018 are:

Out of The BlueNiki Sperou (Artist in residence Dept. Of Medical Biotechnology Flinders University) with the scientific support of Professor Wei Zhang and the Centre for Marine Bioproducts Development (CMBD).

This project will focus on the production of artwork and critical thinking toward marine algae from South Eastern Australia from the perspectives of environmental science, scientific research and technological innovation.

Under the Surface – led by Southern Eyre Arts Inc. 

The project inspires a collaboration between art and science to showcase life beneath the waves under the Port Lincoln Jetty.

Ageing, frailty and the stories we tell – led by Mandy Archibald, Flinders University College of Nursing and Health Sciences

The project will explore explore the meanings that people attribute to the concept of frailty, the fears and stigmas surrounding aging, and the meanings that older persons attribute to the objects in their lives.

Ngarrindjeri Seasonal Calendar – led by Zoos SA

The project will focus on communicating Traditional Ecological Knowledge (TEK), in this case seasonal indicators that can be observed in nature, through an engaging calendar graphic and mural featuring photography and artwork, and through Aboriginal ceremony.

Recent Articles

National Science Week (SA) Initiatives Launch

National Science Week (SA) Initiatives Launch will be held on Wednesday 27 March 2019 at 6pm at RiAus. Come along to hear about the 2019 SA community grants for National Science Week, and help launch the Unsung Hero of SA Science awards.

South Australian Science Excellence Awards Open

STEM researchers, leaders and educators whose work is recognised by their peers for excellence and impact are invited to apply.

Tall Poppy Nominations Open

Nominations for 2019 are now open and close on April 10th. Selection criteria include outstanding research / academic achievement as well as excellence in communication and community engagement to promote an understanding of science.