February 15, 2021

The 2020 SA Science Excellence Award winners have been announced, representing South Australia’s best and brightest.

The South Australian Science Excellence Awards recognise and reward outstanding scientific endeavour, including its application in industry and the advancement of science, and education of technology, engineering, mathematics and medicine (STEMM). This year, we are once again reminded of the incredible talent displayed by South Australians.

The 2020 SA Science Excellence Award winners are:

  • South Australian Scientist of the Year: Professor Sharad Kumar (University of South Australia)
  • South Australian Scientist of the Year: Professor Colin Raston (Flinders University)
  • Innovator of the Year: Micro-X Carbon Nano Tube Project Team (Micro-X)
  • PhD Research Excellence: Dr Erinn Fagan-Jeffries (University of Adelaide)
  • STEMM Educator of the Year – School Teaching: Ms Kristie Talbot (Modbury School)
  • STEMM Educator of the Year – Tertiary Teaching: Professor Kerry Wilkinson (University of Adelaide)
  • Excellence in Research Collaboration: Flinders University, led by Professor Karen Reynolds – Medical Device Partnering Program

Other award winners from 2020 are:

Australian Institute of Policy and Science (AIPS) Awards

  • Tall Poppy of the Year: Dr Kylie Dunning (University of Adelaide)

SA National Science Week Awards

  • Unsung Hero of SA – Science: Mr Graham Medlin (SA Museum)
  • Unsung Hero of SA – Science Communication: Dr Robert Lawrence and Mrs Rosalie Lawrence (Wild Orchid Watch project)


You can learn more about each of these excellent scientists, educators and citizens from all of these awards in these short videos.

Winners of the 2020 SA Science Excellence Awards were announced at an award ceremony held on Friday, 12 February.