Welcome to South Australia's Regional Science Hubs.

The SA Regional Science Hub Strategy seeks to create a network of organisations that will collaborate to deliver ongoing community science engagement activities, including events held during National Science Week.

South Australia’s Regional Science Hubs bring together multi-disciplinary teams. The objective is for them to be comprised of science experts, professional organisations, educational institutions, research bodies, industry, community groups and local governance organisations. Each Hub serves to formalize disparate and informal science communication networks in regional areas and aims to create a more collaborative approach to science engagement activities.


Regional Science Hubs are being established in the Adelaide Hills region; and the Barossa, Light and Lower North region. Interested parties are invited to submit Expressions of Interest to the Inspiring South Australia program at the SA Museum for funding to establish these new hubs.

Engaging South Australians with Science

The central theme of the SA Regional Science Hub Strategy is to improve scientific literacy for South Australians with the following goals:

  • More young people are motivated to pursue scientific careers
  • People across SA feel more confident in their decision-making relating to scientific issues
  • Communities work together to deliver events that suit the interests of those in their region
  • An appreciation of the important work undertaken by SA scientists and engineers.

Developing Community Programs

Each Hub will deliver a series of initiatives that will showcase science, build cooperation between community, government, research bodies and industry, and engage people in activities that are both educational and entertaining.

Using the ‘national-framework – local action’ approach, Hubs will determine the kinds of activities best suited to the needs and interests of the local community.

South Australia’s Regional Science Hubs

The first four Hubs were established during 2015 in the Limestone Coast, Murray and Mallee, Yorke and Mid-North, and in the Fleurieu and Kangaroo Island regions. Two hubs were established in 2016 in the Far North and in the Eyre and Western regions. Hubs are funded by the Inspiring South Australia grants program to help bring the celebration of science to an increasing number of South Australians.

The Hubs are a key initiative that raises community awareness of the importance of science and innovation and the potential careers that are possible involving science. This includes facilitating regional science engagement such as applying for National Science Week federal and state grants, and building cooperation between community, government, research bodies and industry to engage people in activities that are both educational and entertaining.


View Events