October 13, 2019

The 2019 SA Tall Poppies were announced on the 29th of July at a reception at the Barr Smith Library attended by the Governor, His Excellency the Honourable Hieu Van Le AC, The Honourable David Pisoni MP, and dignitaries.

The Australian Institute of Policy and Science created the Tall Poppy Campaign to celebrate achievement in the sciences and communicating the passion and purpose of Australia’s finest scientists to a wider audience. The South Australian campaign delivers initiatives that increase public engagement and promote excellence in research, inform and influence policy.


The 2019 South Australian Tall Poppies are: A/Prof Sarah Cohen-Woods, Dr Jia Tina Du, Dr Oren Griffiths, Dr Giang Nguyen, Dr Nigel Rogasch, Dr Danny Wilson, Dr Daniel King and Dr Marnie Winter.

You can read more about each of them here!

Recent Articles

Science-Arts Grants 2020

The Inspiring SA 2020 Science-Arts Collaboration Grants are open!

Science Alive! Call out for booth holders and participants

This year Science Alive! is looking to introduce new and engaging science experiences, information booths and shows to its program, and this is a call-out to invite interested parties to be involved.

Regional Science Event Grants OPEN

The 2020 SA Regional Science Small Grants are open to regional community groups, organisations and businesses to help bring the celebration of science to an increasing number of South Australians.