Inspiring South Australia has compiled a comprehensive list of STEM research, teaching, communication, journalism and arts awards. The aim of the awards list is to enhance the public recognition of South Australian STEM-practitioners by increasing the awareness of awards available and encouraging nomination.

South Australians are eligible to apply for all of the awards on the list. The list contains mostly state- and national-based awards, with some international awards. The awards are arranged by category:

  • Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry
  • Animal Science
  • Arts
  • Education
  • Engineering
  • General
  • Geographical and Geological Sciences
  • Journalism
  • Mathematical and Computing Sciences
  • Medical and Cognitive Sciences
  • Physical Sciences
  • Plant and Ecological Sciences
  • Science Communication
  • Technological Sciences


Inspiring South Australia has also compiled a comprehensive list of South Australian recipients of major state and national STEM research, teaching and communication awards. The list is designed to acknowledge and improve the visibility of eminent South Australian scientists, communicators and educators.

The list includes winners during the 2011 – 2020 period for the following awards:

  • Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science
  • Young Tall Poppy Science Awards
  • Australian Museum Eureka Prize
  • Unsung Hero of SA Science and Science Communication
  • FameLab
  • Science Excellence Awards SA

Inspiring South Australia encourages the distribution of both lists. The Inspiring SA STEM Awards List and Inspiring SA STEM Award Winners 2011 – 2020 List are available to download.

Download the Inspiring South Australia STEM Award Winners List 2011 – 2020

Download the Inspiring SA STEM Awards List